D77

By D77

Bygone era

This is the back of Bandar Mall, which reminds me of something that I can't quite put my finger on. 1920s typefaces? American alleys from the 50s? Something like that. Regardless, I love it. I only ever carry my 50mm and my phone these days, and so will perhaps go back at some point with my 18mm lens and see if can get a decent shot where the angles aren't quite so distorted (if that's even possible?). I do love the vintage setting on my phone due to the way it effortlessly handles light and contrast, but could do without the heavy vignetting it offers.

The mall houses the cinema we went to this morning to see Thor. It was surprisingly good, despite the needless 3D (which made the film much darker than it should have been) and the guy who I had to speak to in order to make him put his cigarette out. He seemed genuinely surprised that someone would ask such a thing. That you can forgive someone yapping all the way through just so long as they don't spark up another cigarette is just another thing to let Cairo get to you with. Perhaps I should put the behaviour in the same bygone era as the mall itself, or maybe manners were just as scarce back then.

Afterwards, a quick cab jump to Family Cinema for Scream 4, which was shit.

Later, a Starbucks and a wander down Conriche El Nil before optimistically attempting to do some shoes (her) and games (him) shopping, before quickly realising the mistake of bothering to do either out here.

Now, pizza and a movie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.