Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Necropolis

I was up early to do some more work before going to today's music session. One of the other guys was coming to today's venue for the first time, so he called at my place first and I acted as guide at the head of the convoy. Getting there involves going out the Malahide Road, a driving experience I wouldn't wish on my worst enemy. It's plagued by one of these ridiculous Quality Bus Corridors, which means half the road is set aside for half the day for public transport which is hardly ever to be seen. As if that weren't enough, just about every junction on the road is controlled by traffic lights, many of which are on the most idiotic sequence imaginable. It's an excruciating drive, not every far from my place at all, but can often take half an hour to negotiate, in start/stop mode most of the way in a procession of crawling traffic. Grrrrrrrrrrr !

Thankfully, the selection of music got my mind off all that, and by the time we retired to the nearby Hilton hotel for chat and liquid refreshment afterwards I was in tip-top form. The others left in dribs and drabs until it was just me and Cathal, the day's host. We chatted, and then I asked him if the cemetery up the road was within walking distance, because I thought I might squeeze in a blip or two there before the light faded. He thought that was a desperately morbid thing to do, but I assured him it wasn't, and that photographing gravestones can be fascinating and rewarding. He left me to it. As it happened, it wasn't such a great experience. It's a modern graveyard, it's all a bit barren and dispiriting, and some of the graves are decorated in what can only be described as a rather tacky way.

Back home, it was time for a quick bite to eat before facing into work again. Oh, I've back-blipped yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.