when all around you are losing theirs

After a surprisingly low-key christmas town centre experience over christmas and a lack of visiting to the various January sales I was somewhat surprised by the business of the town today on my paper-buying adventure until I remembered it 's a Saturday at the end of the month when people get paid and go retail-mental. I am thankfully freed of this by getting paid in the middle of the month and by not being susceptible to advertising except when it is conducted by Mr. Cadbury's parrot. I did buy some things today though most of them were sheets of paper, coffee and falafels. Later on I also bought a big bagful of fruit to make some smoothies with along with some replacement bread. I might also send off for my Ryvita tins now that I have sufficient tokens. It's still not exactly what I would term a purchasing frenzy. Certainly not compared to what took place in Glasgow where Nicky has not only bought the bridesmaids' dresses and shoes but also some sort of daft featherysparklething to wear on her head. As she wouldn't tell me what it cost I can only assume she is embarassed by the price for what is quite clearly a single-use item; I keep telling her that she couldn't be more beautiful with no make-up and normal un-fancificated hair but she seems to have been ensnared by the concept of the fascinator since trying some on under the influence of wearing a wedding dress. In the face of such profligacy (even though her mum will probably pay for the weddingstuffs) she finally gave in to my reasoning and okayed the (fully budgeted and justified) laptop-purchase I've been casually mentioning for a month or seven.

Still a little bit of umming and ahhing over which to use and whether or not to link the spares but this one seemed at the time to be the luckiest find though I might re-crpo it shortly. With Nicky being in Glasgow I would ideally have spent the entire weekend going to the cinéma but there's not much decent out at the moment. I saw this as I wandered past the Omni on the way back from wandering past its sister at Ocean Terminal after wandering past the Cameo, Odeon and Filmhouse and the bottom bit of the Water of Leith Walkway. Wandering is probably just as entertaining as most of the films on offer, is much healthier and cheaper and doesn't have a start time which is either thirty minutes prior to or two hours after the time of arrival.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.