Darrell K Morris

By darrellkmorris

Only A Northern Photo

1.30 p.m. A Back Street, Littleborough, Greater Manchester.

Sorry to any Northerners viewing this photograph as it does seem to pander to a stereotype. No offence was intended and I partcularly enjoy it as it reminds of the work of John Bulmer
one of the finest photojournalists this country has ever produced. Though I am in no way regarding my photograph or any of my work is anywhere near the same quality of Mr Bulmer.

I was in Littleborough, Greater Manchester in search of my Grandad's youth. Finding his childhood home that doubled as the town's Doctors surgery in the pre-NHS days and where locals would bring my Grandad's father pigs, pheasants and at christmas turkeys in lieu of payment for treatment. Sadly, the surname Ashcroft is such a common one in Lancashire that I am non the wiser to know if any ancestors are still in the area.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.