Skyroad

By Skyroad

Gods In The Grykes

Spent a night on Inis Mór, one of the Aran Islands. I've visited the place about four times, the first being in 1995 (I think). I came back in 2004 to photograph the 'grykes', cracks and fissures in the limestone rock of which the island is formed. You can find wonderfully graphic and sculptural shapes, such as the one above, which reminds me of a Klee or Picasso line drawing. I christened my little project 'Gods In The Grykes'.

This time I didn't get that much photography done. I found it more exhausting than I'd remembered; trekking over the rocky paths to reach the clifftops. The weather was gorgeous of course, and there was that tremendous sense of deep summer peacefulness you find in places removed from urban sound-effects, the breathing of the sea, bumblebees and bird-calls from the cliffs replacing the grey swoosh of traffic.

This being a break or mini-holiday, I had looked forward to going for a few drinks, but once I got back to the guesthouse I fell onto the bed read myself to sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.