The Little Lyle Files

By kevinwatters

School sanity

This is the letter we have been waiting for to confirm that our son can go to the same school as his sister when he starts in September.

Despite the fact that I have a reasonably relaxed view on much of the bureaucracy that surrounds our lives, this is one that I cannot get to grips with and cannot agree with. We live within a ten minute walk from our local lower school (there is a three tier system in Bedfordshire) and are within the catchment area of the school yet we had no guarantee that Alex would get a place. I wouldn't mind so much if it wasn't the case that theoretically he could have lost out to children from outside the catchment area and the nearest alternative would have been a minimum of a fifteen minute drive away.

Anyway, I chose to use this photo as today's blip as we opened the letter today (it landed on the doorstep yesterday mind you) and, as I have spent most of today in that sorting mode (see previous blips) I have hardly set foot outside the house. So today's blip is about social comment as opposed to creative photography, although it has to be said that I did use Photoshop Elements to do a little bit of touching up and removal of private information.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.