Cottonopolis

By milltownlass

Looking up to the sky

I have featured several cotton mills in my journal, as I am quite partial to huge red brick constructions. This is the first time I've seen a mill chimney from the inside!

Whilst our son went into Manchester City Centre with his friends, my husband, our daughter and I had an afternoon at Quarry Bank Mill. Walking around the former cotton mill was really interesting, as volunteers demonstrated everything from home workers carding, spinning and weaving to the huge mill machines in action.

The weather has been glorious, and we took a stroll around the beautiful gardens there, finishing off with ice creams. We will have to have a return visit, as we didn't have an opportunity to tour the Apprentice House today, and I know that my daughter will love that!

Finished the day with a long session of ironing plus making tea.

Back to work tomorrow. Ho hum!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.