walking in the city

By inthecity

Cherry blossoms

Election Day here. I voted in the first half hour of the polls opening. The place was humming already.

I'm revving up for chapter 5 draft, finally. It's the last chapter (before I revise the whole thing). I've sourced some cool documentary material for it. Like the conference I went to last month "Our City, Our Food: Building the Food Movement through Digital Stories." (specifically the crafting of short personal documentary-type videos).

Digital storytelling is fairly popular now, but it has roots in the early 90s in the Bay Area. I've been writing about its history, the main methods and writings of its founders, and its training. That's why the several trips down to SF and Berkeley. Anyway, so the food conference was organized by Toronto Public Health and also a whole slew of food activists. It was really interesting to see how different parties used the stories and talked about them.

Ooh better go, got the news on, the results are coming in.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.