He's Back!

And he brought his missus!

Only yesterday I mentioned the wild fantail that visited me frequently last autumn. Although I hoped he would return I wasn't counting on it. This morning I opened the verandah door to let some fresh air in after the clouds had lifted a little. Suddenly there he was, flitting around the room so fast I could hardly follow him. Taking a decent photo of him in the gloom was impossible. Most shots had either a blur or nothing at all. The two lower shots were captured from a movie I made- it was a terrible quality too.

I was even more excited when the second fantail glided in. That's her on the left. Seeing them together was so thrilling. Then, as I watched the second one fly out the door I saw a grey warbler just outside about 2 metres from me! I've heard him singing nearby recently, but rarely see him at all.

After months of very few birds, other than sparrows and starlings, this has been a very special day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.