wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Zoooom

After missing the bus home after work, I spent 20 minutes waiting for the next one. 20 minutes spent stubbornly not looking at the person next to me because I sort of knew him, but he didn't seem to have recognised me, and really it would just be embarrassing to identify each other now, so I'll just look the other way, ooh look at the GPO clock, isn't it striking (pun intended) this evening. The bus eventually came, after these 20 minutes of determined ignoring. As I walked up the aisle, I couldn't help but look at him as I walked past. He wasn't who I thought. I didn't know him at all. But you can never have too much practice at ignoration.

My day went something like this:

Got up
Did getting up things, all as normal, including frenetic cat climbing my stockinged legs (yikes)
Made bowl of weetbix (vita brits to be precise)
Took spoonful of weetbix (vita brits) into mouth.
Spat spoonful out. Milk turning.
Ran to the bus. Hungry.
Bought muffin on way to work. Invoked sympathy of bakery lady, and gifted many sample bready bits.
Worked. Hard.
Lunched with bestie.
Worked. Hard again.
Bussed home (eventually)
Changed kitty litter, hung out washing, folded dry washing, fed cat, changed clothes, emptied dishwasher, washed some dishes. 20 mins. I'm good. I'll let you work out why the sudden spurt of housewifeyness when you get to the end of the tale.
Sped to dinner, ate it, headed to Bible study
Left that early
Remembered to buy more milk (will now be content in the morning).
Drove to airport, parked at the service station just outside and waited.
Waited.
Waited.
Realised I had chilly toes and the servo attendant was giving me grumpy looks.
Waited
Parents landed, collected baggage and sent out the bat signal.
Collected them, drove home, regaled with tales of Melbourne (that far off land to whence (can you say 'to whence'?) my sister has migrated).

And now I shall head to my snoozative dominion. Good night all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.