Backpack TopherHack

By TopherHack

Dog Day Afternoon

Another quiet day today, although I did find a great little trail that snaked along the coast. I even managed to run on my way back, despite the frankly ludicrous humidity.
I've been painstakingly lazy in my attempts at regular running, and haven't run at all since we left Vallarta.

I arrived back at the hostel, and after twenty minutes stood under a cold shower and another thirty sat under a ceiling fan, I headed out with Lucy to walk down the beautiful long beach we'd not yet explored.
There were quite a few dogs hanging around, and when the one you see above followed us faithfully down the beach, frantically wagging his tail, we didn't mind a bit.
Things took a turn though when I decided to take him for a run, sprinting away to see if he'd follow. He soon caught up with me, but then excitedly began jumping up at me, biting my hands and arms. When I got wise to this, and moved my arms out of the way, he merrily began chowing down on my legs instead.
Luckily he eventually got bored of eating me, realising it was even more fun to bury himself in the sand.

I swore off dogs for a while, but when another sauntered over as we sat in the sand, I couldn't resist stroking him under the chin.
He really seemed to love it - but not as much as he hated it when I stopped. He pawed at me in a frenzy, desperate for me to carry on, but managing only to scratch me to shreds.

I don't know if Mexican dogs are starved of love, or just plain crazy, but I think I'll stick to cats for a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.