Baggie Trousers

By SkaBaggie

Used Cars

The second day of our long weekend, and it's off into Much Wenlock to browse round bookshops, wander the fields and hills, and generally make the most of yet another beautiful day. It's one of those picturesque places that seems to be stuck in a perpetual touristy time warp, with its quaint village square, Tudor facades and colourful bunting.

Quite appropriate, then, that one of my first sights entering the village should be an old Morris Minor, in near-pristine condition. I take quite a few shots of it, more for the benefit of my motor-mad mate Tom than for myself. I also earn quite a few glares from passers-by who seem to think that I'm some kind of plain clothes traffic warden.

I dare say there were quite a few more of these on the road the last time Albion beat Villa, over a quarter of a century ago. I regard seeing the Morris as a good luck omen, a sign that today must be our day to finally break the curse against the claret and blue lot.

And, sure enough, that's just what comes to pass with Youssouf Mulumbu's 84th-minute goal, a vital three points taking us to near-certain safety. Thanks are due to Mulumbu, and to Roy Hodgson, but also to the old Morris for its unsung part in this landmark victory.

Anything your heart desires may come to you, when you wish upon a car.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.