rack focus

By noahd1

Brooklyn Rising

When it's nice out and I feel up for it, I bike to and from work, which takes me over the always photogenic Brooklyn Bridge (seriously, no matter the weather or time of day, the Brooklyn Bridge is always awe-inspiring. I don't think I will ever get bored of that structure). The pedestrian pathway on the Brooklyn Bridge, narrow to begin with, and in recent days even more narrow with tall temporary construction walls encroaching on the path, is split in two by a yellow line. One side is for foot traffic (mostly, if not exclusively tourists), and on the other is a two-way bike path, used by Brooklyn commuters. Bike commuters being a certain set, and tourists being well, another set, it's a bit of a strained marriage. Tourists often wander into the bike lane, not knowing or forgetting it's a bike lane, and bikers kindly remind them with a bit of Brooklyn English. In any case, an occasional wandering tourist is easy enough to deal with, but it was a bit of a surprise on my commute home tonight to find this horde amassed and ... uh, crowd surfing. I of course had to get off my bike, so figured I'd make the best of it and snap a photo. I have no idea what it was for, sadly. I can tell you that the people involved were pretty excited about it though. "That was intense" is a phrase I heard uttered as I walked by. Yah dude. Intense.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.