Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Chewing the fat!

You'd think I'd had enough of China wouldn't you... well yes and no.

Took the bus to the top of the Edgware Road this morning and walked though the West End to the Photographers Gallery.

On the way I took a detour though Chinatown, which seems like such a small flashback to what I've just been though. Anyway I saw these two old birds chatting away under the pagoda and they didn't care I was photographing them, they were just interested in their conversation. This is a stark difference to the older generation in Hong Kong who were very wary of being captured.

I thought it ironic that you can photograph practically anything in Hong Kong without suspicion, apart from old people, whereas in London you can photograph nothing without raising questions, apart from it seems old Chinese people.

In the Photographers Gallery I saw some of the most amazing photographs of Indian children I'd ever seen (very inspiring) by a photographer called Fazal Sheikh. A highly recommended view with a compelling narrative.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.