Appertunity

By appertunity

WHY?

Don't ask me WHY because I don't know and I doubt you do either...

I had a few street photos lined up today but I couldn't be bothered apping them so I blipped myself looking like a mad man (which sometimes isn't far from the truth).

I suspect a haircut is in order!

Does everyone worry about metaphysics as much as I do? I seem to spend an inordinate amount of time contemplating WHY! It's almost pre-programmed into me & my flat groans under the weight of books about philosophy, science, God & the nature of reality!

Why us? What is the point? Why have conscious beings arisen in the universe to ask such questions?

We don't need to be conscious we could quite easily get along without the self reference but a world of zombies wouldn't be quite so exciting.

I've been obsessing about the double slit experiment (quantum physics) recently & how it seems to mean we are an essential part of the puzzle. No observers = no universe!

I worry about death a lot! Do you? Or is it best to brush that under the carpet? We all have to face it sometime & in doing so now perhaps live a better life?

I sometimes think we try to cram so much busy stuff into life so we are not left alone with the big questions as they can be a little scary if you dig too deeply and don't handle them carefully.

I used to think about WHY a lot as a kid (I was the weird one who always got picked last & put in goal lol) to the extent of it becoming a Zen like mantra & then I had a vision when I was about 13 (on the bus lol) of how perfect everything is, the universe ticking along just as it should, everything in it's place, everything, even the bad bits perfectly beautiful & RIGHT and NECESSARY!

We need life to distract us from death and death to define life but it's no less scary.

I still think it's weird were all here but to find the answers is a long lonely path.

Religion might give out easy answers but the truth has to be fought for and I suspect it's far stranger yet more simple than anything we dreamt up for our holy books.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.