Doing Things Differently

By PhilWWalton

They're Back!!! .......er, honest

The Swifts, the Swifts!!! As I stepped into our back garden this morning, I heard a familiar screaming call. Looking up I saw three Swifts, circling above me, catching flies. Four days earlier than last year, five earlier than 2009. NOW Spring is here!!

As I watched, a Cormorant flew hurriedly South to North. Very unusual for suburban Leeds!

Both birds were Garden Year Ticks, taking us to 35 for 2011. The Cormorant was a Garden Lifer, taking us to 47.

As if this wasn't enough, as I left this afternoon for a couple of hours at Swilly, a Jackdaw flew over me, calling as it went. Yet another Garden Year Tick - 36!!!

This Blip was meant to be of Swifts. They didn't oblige. You'll just have to take my word for it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.