Bow of the Dresden

Day five diving at Scapa Flow (explanation starts here).

This morning we dived the Brummer, a light cruiser. She was paricularly interesting for the railings in place around the bridge, and the iris of a searchlight (used to keep it hidden while it warmed up, and for signalling.

This afternoon we went in on the Dresden again (I blipped one of her guns on day 1), this time starting at the stern and working up. I feel like I've found my way around the light cruisers now, so it all made a lot of sense as we swam up the length of the hull, right to the bows. This is the shield emblem on her bow, originally carrying the coat of arms of the city she is named after. It's an insignifcant feature in many ways, but I suspect it was a source of pride to the crew and I think that it's interesting for that reason, which is why I've blipped it against the fine lines of the bow (the Dresden is nearly upside-down at the bow so you're looking from deck level towards the keel)

One more day diving to go...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.