I Am

If I could tell you,
What I know.
And in my ways,
And action show.

The learning given,
From my parents dear.
Both in seeing things,
And in what I hear.

If I could let you,
Hear my prayer.
How strong in faith,
Are the words...I share.

If you could reach,
My plaintive roll.
And feel the contents,
Of my soul.

Then you would know,
There is no sham.
And the whole of me,
Is what...I Am.


E.P. 1908 - 1989


This completes my 365 day project. Such a gift I've given myself. Thank You, Beloved Grandmother. In Ethel's words I'll offer acknowledgements:

"Who besides God ever put such beautiful thoughts in my mind so I could find the words for TEASEL. After writing over 1400 poems in THISTLE DOWN and MILKWEED, I still had more coming. During every day I would be inspired with topics suitable for poems. Poems are a little story told in a short way. Something that could be read in a minute. If I did not start it right then, I would forget and would have to wait for another inspiration.

"I give special acknowledgement to myself. Not because I think I deserve the honor of putting it on, but because I couldn't bring up the money to pay for publishing TEASEL unless I could write the poems, type the poems, make and design the front cover, write the front pages, draw the pictures, and put it together for copying. It is indeed my own works, my own words, my own beautiful, beautiful, TEASEL, my third book of poems, that is offered to you...in love.

"It is my wish that each one of you can know me by my words, for my words are as a cloak that covers, with a slow trickle of meaning coming from my mind. Slowly...ever so slowly do words come out in lines that are not made to be equal to every day thinking. They are a gift that all men can express, if they will but take the time.

"The more time you take...the more beautiful they are. Thought can wind and re-wind in a beautiful way, each time improving the texture of a lovely phrase. Words stay tucked in, and if you can once get them turned loose, sometimes they are hard to stop.

"The language is made up of many words, and to use them in expressing a beautiful thought is the work of a master...the work of a poet. O TEASEL you are a beautiful thing...you take my poems and string them on a golden chain to be held bound together always. Never let them slip away and become lost. Let the world remember what I said here...so much that by my example it will be worthy of what I did here."



A note about the photograph; Grandma had an affinity with birds. When this bird flew into my shot I knew it was the one to be given today. Grandma also loved a fisherman, and of course, our beautiful earth.

Leslie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.