Allotment May 5th

Continuing with my monthly documentary of the allotment which is in an inner city farm and has been organically run for nearly 30 years - my withy fence is rooted and grows well, potatoes are showing flower buds, runner beans have managed to avoid slugs so far (I only grow 6 but put in a few more in July), raspberries (summer and autumn), peas, Irish beans from Secret Garden/freespiral, onions, a few broad beans (only enough to eat in salads as I have to fight off the blackfly whatever time of year I plant them - too many ants around that bring the blackfly whatever I do), fruit bushes are heavy with berries, you can't see the asparagus bed, then sweet peas and finally huge globe artichoke plants. On the far left under the nets are strawberries - already have white fruits and nearer are greens.The seed bed to the left was trampled over thoroughly by a large fat woman chasing her child so it has been re-sown with more carrots and beetroot. I fight the slugs in my cold frame and still have leeks, courgettes, cucumber and tomatoes to put out. I cannot imagine not being able to work with the earth and growing vegetables and flowers - I would only be half a person. Feb 5th April 5th and supper tonight

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.