middleman

By middleman

Fashion

Or to be prescise, Bristol Fashion.

The city's been at the forefront of musical innovation it seems on and off for the last 20 years. Many of today's dubsteppers come from that part of the world and, of course, in the mid 90s there was the trip hop holy trinity of Portishead, Tricky and Massive Attack.

But, a couple of years before all those shuffling beats and Isaac Hayes samples became the norm there were another bunch of artists carving out their own niche. It sometimes got called 'space rock' but it was also pretty ambient at times, at others feedback-drenched, then it got all drum and bass influenced as well and a lot of the time, you never knew what you were going to get.

Flying Saucer Attack were pretty awesome (I might come to them another day) and so was my artist of choice for today, Third Eye Foundation. The stuff I've had on the headphones today has been pretty invigorating, and I think I'm safe in saying that 'more is more' tends to be the nature of the beast here. It's quite rough, you may not like it, but I did. A lot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.