Floaters.....

Andrew is looking happy! He's in charge of THE Book Sale - and things are going pretty well. What makes community at the end of the day in a place like this is when folk are willing to make voluntary efforts. The cause, of course, is great! But it is the coming together of lots and lots of people around a common purpose that contributes to health - both for them and for society.

At least, that's what I feel - and I'm never slow to tell you about what I feel. Haha!

Back on Scottish soil - and spent the first few hours chasing floaters! As in little threads floating around in my eye, with the occasional bright flash. Sent to the Royal Inf by NHS24 - very pleasant doctor who kept being called away to deal with emergencies. He phoned the eye infirmary - no space today unless it was a REAL emergency. My chap said he didn't have the equipment to decide if it was serious or not, and even if he had - well what did he know? So plan B - he wrote a letter to take to my optician - let him have a good close look with the equipment and decide whether it was urgent...

Sounds silly, but it worked fine. 45 minutes intense examination - and I am having something called vitreous separation. Which is probably not too bad. The vitreous gel comes away from the back of the eye. In 1 case out of 20 as it happens that will cause a retinal tear - which is NOT GOOD and straight to the hospital. So take it very easy for 48 hours. Otherwise, I will go on Mon or Tues!

I only tell you this long story because the whole thing is quite fascinating. The nice doctor in his letter to the optician said I was "looking well and undistressed!" Can't be bad?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.