WorldLens

By worldlens

Pineapple Upside-Down, Mixed-up, and Plopped-Out (

With the abundance of fresh pineapple around, I figured a pineapple upside-down cake would be fun to try. I read a few different recipes and settled on one that didn't sound too hard. The pineapple was easy to find. Pineapple juice was harder because usually I would just use the juice out of the can after I pulled the pineapple chunks out. I settled on a pineapple milk from 7-11. (Don't ask why I could find pineapple milk but not pineapple juice...I don't know either.)

Once all the ingredients were gathered and mixed, it went into the dorm oven. What came out an hour later was not the usual pineapple upside-down cake. It didn't want to plop-out of the pan, so we scooped it, the cake was a strange texture, and the pineapple tasted better before it was cooked. Oh well!

The students were nice and said it tasted good...it was sweet and tasty, just not what I was hoping for. The great thing about cooking for my Thai friends is that they don't know how it is" supposed to be." So if it turns out a little different, everyone still enjoys the experience of trying something new.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.