Doing Things Differently

By PhilWWalton

Ambrosia

Today was enjoyable for various and varied reasons. I was out early as I had to be at the hide for 9:30. The Leeds RSPB Group were visiting the patch and I'd volunteered to help. Four of us Swilly members and twenty five from the RSPB group walked halfway round the southern perimeter of St Aidans for a couple of hours.

Whilst the weather deteriorated at the end, the birds played ball. Especially the female Marsh Harrier, which gave a stunning display of evading irate Lapwings, at the very start of the walk. Lots of warblers were heard and seen along the path and a Common Sandpiper put in an appearance on the causeway. A Great Spotted Woodpecker spent a long time preening in front of us. The RSPB'ers were very friendly and very interested in the history and sightings at St Aidans. A great way to spend the morning.

After lunch, we made one of our infrequent visits to Waitrose. I love that store!! Everything is so well displayed and the personal scanner that you use to tot up your own bill and speeds checkout really appeals to my inner geek.

Another thing that makes me like Waitrose is that it is the only shop I've found locally that stocks the subject of this Blip; truely nectar of the gods! They really knew what they were doing when they brewed this to be sent to India for the troops stationed out there.

Well, it makes me happier with my lot!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.