Ausmossie

By ausmossie

Calligraphy

Had one of those days. I went out for a 'walk and click' and took some really good shots. I was looking forward to coming home and spending time going through them to choose which one I would blip. One of them was absolute crap and so I decided to delete it on camera. I wasn't paying attention and wiped the whole lot. NOT HAPPY!!! I was lucky that I had the compact with me and had been playing with it so I had something left from the day. I am not complaining too much.. I like the pic and story for this one.

The central character for the story is the guy with the stick looking thing. Its actually a big 'paint brush'. A long metal handle with a sharpened sponge on the end. The end is dipped in water and then the artist (cause that's what they are) writes beautiful Chinese characters on the pavement in water. Not too many people actually do it. This guy is actually quite young.. Most of the people who do it are old men.

I am not sure about the guy with the notepad. He seemed to be telling the young guy what to write but I am not sure.. And no.. he had nothing to do with the "Police" sign in the background.. I don't think they have Caligraphy Police.

Lots of people stop to watch them write and also to read what they write. From what I understand, it's usually old famous poetry and 'wise words' from people like Confuscious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.