Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

May bug...but really a beetle

When I got up this morning the world was wet - the longed for rain had finally arrived. And the garden smelt heavenly!

The damp weather had a significant effect on the contents of the moth trap, with a noticeable increase in numbers (mostly shuttle-shaped darts) and diversity. Amongst the more interesting moths was a cream-bordered green-pea, a nationally scarce species, with a stronghold in eastern England.

I was excited to also find two cockchafers or may bugs. We first had one in the moth trap last May. This scarab beetle suffered very badly as result of pesticide use, but in recent years reduction in the use of pesticides has caused its numbers to increase. Ours were both males, and has extremely beautiful and ornate antennae with seven separate 'leaves'.

I spent some considerable time photographing them on the trunk of one of our apple trees. I really wanted a shot of one taking off, but this proved to be quite difficult. The first spent some time walking about, and then stopped and appeared to be pumping air into it's body. I took my eye off it for a second and it was gone! I resolved to be more vigilant with the second, which was then much slower to get underway! I only had one chance and kicked myself because I slightly clipped one toe and the wing tip.

I dithered about whether to post this, but decided that it showed the structure of the wings quite well, and I might not get another chance of a similar shot this year. Beetles have two hard outer wing cases, or elytra, which protect the hind wings, that do all the flying. The hind wings fold in a complicated way, and in this photo you can see the elytra have been raised and the hind wings are unfolding ready for flight.

Most of the rest of the day has been spent in the garden. I finally managed to plant out the runner and french beans, as well as some strawberries and six chilli plants. More planting tomorrow - lots of courgettes and squashes - as well as new pots of salad greens to be sown!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.