Seattle

Pink blossoms are falling. They are swirling in the wind. I didn't fancy new exploration today, but sought to revisit and rediscover. I sought out the sea and stayed with it. Before sunset, I was perched at Pier 63, not unlike a few pigeons, ravens, gulls and kissers.

Travelling alone with the camera, I meet a few like me. The other day I had met a photographer with a D3X and a D3 with high-end primes attached to each body shooting street portraits. Today, as I stood looking out, an elderly photographer with a rebel and a mighty 100-400mm lens arrived. What followed was the most interesting conversation. Her perspective on subjects was diverse and she had many fine ideas. And being from Seattle, she had a lot of insight into good locations for almost every genre of photography. What she said she thought was, my photographic inclination is more towards the documentary genre. I had thought about this before and her observation was quite accurate. I seek to tell a story, and also to find an artistic meaning in our observations and experience. At their extremes, artistic inclination can turn abstract and pure documentary prosaic. There is middle ground, a broad path. It isn't necessary to take sides, but to know they exist.

Today, I had a little battle between two shots I had narrowed it down to, but I chose a simple detailed shot over the other which I thought were more artistic. Made me revisit our conversation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.