It's one life, live free!

By DJ

Street Skate!

Yet another blip about skating!

I was scared deep inside on how would I stop and will I be able to maneuver on the not so good narrow foot path. Umpteen thoughts running were inside. And finally I did gathered guts to get on to street with the blades!

It was easy till certain distance as the turf was even and was fun on the uphill. The down hill made me think of different strategies to maintain the slower pace. I did feel great about my focus when cruising down hill and the brake assisted well. However did ran into grass once to kill the speed and was on knees and the other time diverted into a corporate parking area to avoid down hill; at the end to heck with the speed, did an excellent jump on to grass (just as we see in several stunt videos ;)). The trail lasted for 2 plus miles and gave up after spotting a dreadful down hill.

Continued my journey on foot to the wheel park, aurora. I was so excited to find a skate park in a near distance from home. First time on a skating rink and I had no words to express my happiness.

I never forget this story that was narrated by my teacher when I was in school. It was the journey of Abraham Lincoln to a school which he over heard. The travel that he makes; the diligence he show cases in cleaning a class room which was a test to get into school. After clearing, the happiness/excitement/joy of getting an admission into his dream school can never be expressed in words. I experienced a similar journey and joy after getting on to the skating rink. Thanks to my new skate buddy Lucie for letting me about this place.

Most important lesson learnt is to practice more in the parking lot down hill which helps me stop with ease! Such a wonderful day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.