Today's the day

By sheilwill

Clan Fergusson

Today's the day .................. for a tartan tale

Many years ago when we came to live in Kendal, I got to know a wonderful old couple called Pat and Marion Winchester. Marion was a local girl but Pat came originally from Edinburgh - and had retired after a long career in forestry.

After I had known them for a while, I discovered that Pat was a weaver of cloth - and had a full-sized loom in the attic. He liked to weave tweed and tartans and had a comprehensive reference library of books about the scottish clans and who was allowed to wear what tartan. When he found out that I had been a Fergusson, he made me a scarf in that tartan. It brought back lots of memories - I could remember my brother having a kilt in the Fergusson tartan when he was a wee lad.

I heard today that Pat had died - quite suddenly. So this blip is for him. He was a real character and it was a pleasure to have known him ...........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.