Starry Eyed Surprise

By bellerock

Fragile

I didn't get a good night's sleep. I don't do sleep deprivation very well.

So when the dawn chorus started this morning at stupid o'clock, I could have cheerily throttled each and every little birdie that sang outside my bedroom window.

Just as I started to doze off, my alarm went off and I dragged my weary bones downstairs.

Exhausted by this point, even caffeine couldn't save me as I only have de-caff tea and coffee in the house. (doh!)

I let the puppies outside to play in the garden whilst I started to make breakfast.

But something was wrong as it was far too quiet outside.

When I opened the backdoor, a scene of plant carnage met my weary eyes. The pot plants I'd put outside yesterday in the rain, had been torn from their pots and shredded.

Radar had the audacity to bring me a couple of leaves from one of the plants as a present as if to say,"hey, that was fun, why don't you joined in?"

Not chuffed.

The reality of the situation was beginning to dawn on me as I recognised how delicate and fragile I was feeling. It was going to take a lot of effort to stay upbeat and focused at work.

I put on my cheery face and faked being 'with it' all day. I may even have got away with it; certainly nobody made a comment to the contrary.

Tonight's blip is everything I felt today; delicate, fragile, one puff of wind and I'd fall apart.


Early night tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.