The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

A tender flower

Last night I asked if anyone knew why Amalarian had not posted a blip since Saturday. Tonight I learned the sad, sad news that she has passed away. I'm sorry for any of you that learn the news through this blip, but I wanted to say a few words here to honour her memory.

When I first started blipping in July last year, I gravitated towards Molly's Tuscany journal. The thumbnail of her blip was there every day at the head of the Spotlight page. Her blips were full of Tuscan landscapes, people, buildings, plants, colour, light and life. Her words were witty, wise, informative - a joy to read.

When I subscribed to her journal I was amazed that she subscribed straight back, but more that she immediately took the trouble to comment on my rather inept photographs, always finding something positive to say. She was so generous, never aloof when new blippers subscribed to her journal, always returning the compliment. I suspect she had a gift of making everyone with whom she corresponded feel they had a special relationship. Her comments were always perfectly crafted observations of the photograph and words - insightful, appropriate, generous and encouraging.

She commented on scores of blips every day, scrupulously replying to every comment she received, courteously treating all her correspondents equally. I could never switch off my computer at night until the comment from Molly had arrived.

I must say I'm devastated by the news. I never met her, but I had come to regard her as a special friend. She was always there to encourage me when the muse vanished, or when the pressures of work were getting too much and I was thinking of quitting blipping. She found positives in photographs that I didn't see myself, and that no-one else seemed to see. She has helped me to grow as a photographer, and to want to continue to grow.

This was the photo I intended to post before I heard the news. It's the fly orchid (it deserves a better name to acknowledge its small and intricate beauty). I think she would have been interested in this. Our last blip exchanges were about flower blips, and why some people have so little interest in them. I favourited her penultimate blip, the gorgeous wild Gladiolus which she shot with fabulous light illuminating the flowers. Whenever I see a wild Gladiolus now on botanical forays into Europe, I'll be reminded of Molly.

I think Blipfoto's policy is to retain blips on the site in perpetuity. Her treasure chest will always be there for us.

Rest in peace, Molly. I miss you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.