Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Leaves

Out early this morning for an appointment at St Vincent's Family Medical Center. I had to have lab work done for my annual physical next week. As many of you know, lab work involves a 12-hour fast, so I had to resort to black unsweetened coffee to accompany my cigarettes last night. It was enough to make me think of giving up smoking. Just kidding.

On the way back home from my appointment, I set about looking for today's blip. It was like old times to be walking the streets of Riverside, with camera in hand. And early in the day, it was quite pleasant. The same would not have been said of an afternoon stroll. The temperature hit 90 degrees again in Jacksonville.

I came across these large shiny leaves and instantly saw the potential of a high contrast B&W shot. Don't ask me what the plant is. I haven't a clue. Perhaps someone far more knowledgeable than me in matters botanical will recognize it and provide the answer.

I watched a bit of the Man City v Spurs match this afternoon. I re-ordered the Fox Soccer Channel yesterday so that I can watch Saturday's FA Cup Final on the TV instead of the computer. For those who have been travelling the galaxies these past few weeks, Stoke City play Man City at Wembley in the final.

The news that Stoke defender Robert Huth is doubtful -- he has been a rock all season at the heart of the defence, as well as scoring several vital goals -- left me feeling a little less optimistic than I was yesterday. Watching opponents Man City made me feel even more unsure.

Stoke City have a mountain to climb on Saturday but they faced a similar daunting task 39 years ago when they took on Chelsea in the League Cup Final. Stoke won that final 2-1 and I was there.

It will all come down to the performances on the day. It always does.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.