Swaledale Diary

By swaledale

Cycle commuting

This is the first day this year I have cycled to work and also first time on my new bike which I got at the end of last Summer and haven't used to go to work on yet. Last year I managed to do it twice a week through most of the Summer. This year I was supposed to start in April when the clocks changed but there is always a whole raft of excuses not too
- need car at work
- need to carry a load of stuff
- need to go shopping after work
- need to bring laptop home
- too windy
- too wet
- too cold
The cycle ride is 8.5 miles but it takes in a big climb out of Swaledale and big descent into Wensleydale and the reverse on the way home. At the moment I am too unfit to get up all the hills - I'm blaming the gears on my new bike but really I think its me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.