thespotlightkid

By thespotlightkid

Pink hawthorn

The new bit of the A37 between Dorchester and Weymouth, bypassing the congestion hotspots of Upwey and Broadway, has been open for a few weeks now. Opinions differ as to how much time it will save - the test will be a sunny Sunday lunchtime in August, when tailbacks of 5-6 miles used to be standard.

The new cycleway alongside isn't quite finished, but it is now open from Dorchester all the way to the summit of the Ridgway. My bike has just been serviced so I thought the hill would make a good test. I am pleased to say the rear wheel no longer twitches with every revolution and the steady gradient of the new road made it relatively easy to get to the top. Here is the view I got from the new bridge at the summit, looking back towards Dorchester.

In one of the hedges nearby I spotted this particularly pink hawthorn blossom. I've noticed quite a lot of pink blossom this year and wasn't sure whether it is natural or planted - but this is in an old hedge miles from anywhere so it must be natural.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.