eternal optimist

By eternal

It has come to my attention..

that it has been a while since I got a decent bug blip in. 11 days to be precise.

So I went out looking for one, and not a bug was there to be found, not even a tarty ladybird.

I did come across this though, which nearly fulfills the criteria. If you squint at it, you can see the hint of the bug to come. Then I realised that I knew nothing about it other than it's common name of 'Cuckoo Spit', so I thought I'd better do a bit of research.

Here comes the science bit....

The froghoppers, or the superfamily Cercopoidea, are a group of Hemipteran insects, best known for the nymph stage, which produces a cover of frothed-up plant sap resembling spit; the nymphs are therefore commonly known as spittlebugs, or spit bugs, and their froth as cuckoo spit, frog spit or snake spit.

Now I really want to find a Froghopper. The adults can jump up to 70 cm vertically: a more impressive performance relative to body weight than fleas. The Frog Hopper can accelerate at 4000 m/s2 over 2mm as it jumps

Well, there you go

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.