I don't believe it

After we got in from the Bottom Shop last night I saw this item on the BBC website and shouted "I don't believe it". This morning I assumed that I must have misunderstood it due to having been quaffing beer. But no, here it is.

I can't remember when this project started - about three years ago? Seems like forever. They've been doing nothing for the last wee while except argue about the terms of the contract. There have been many blips recording the non-progress so I did a quick search. I particularly liked The Silence of the Trams by Kris (almost a year ago!), Mrs Cyclops' newspaper headline, Cancarrier's wee rant, and Mr Fish's traffic jam. Chamberlainjohn summarises the whole sorry tale in The other side of the tracks.

I was rather amazed at this statement:

"But the council said it could not guarantee that trams would run along the Scottish capital's most famous street in the project's first phase."

So the street is going to be closed for almost a year to fix the road surface they've damaged by putting in the tramlines so badly. But then there probably won't be any trams running along it.

But even more amazement was to ensue:

"The council's chief executive said it was still not known how much the project would finally cost, where it would run and when it would start to operate."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.