Displacement activities

By Detritus

They didn't train me for this...

I don't Blip about work - except in very loose terms. Just one of those things.

Today I visited a business. Upon leaving, I walked to my car to find a belligerent peacock aside the drivers door. I stood off and pondered what to do. I was never trained for moving territorial decorative birds.

The peacock watched, then tilted it's head as though to listen to me thinking. It waited. I waited. I considered just walking, but I had about ten miles to cover in half an hour. I considered bagging it for tea, and perhaps a head-dress for she, but felt that professionally I was on dodgy ground. I was after all right outside their window.

Time stood still, before the peacock decided that a clapped out Ford Focus was simply not worth the effort of dealing with a slow witted cretin like me. With an air of superiority it strutted off past me, leaving me deflated and defeated in it's fowl wake.

Upon arriving home I took the hound out for a play. I almost exacted revenge upon the bird world when Lil discovered a pheasant, but Lil being a wimp, she seemed just as surprised at the flapping wings, and took a moment to start her futile flight.

Fowl 2 - Me 0.

Oh well.

I know this shot is a cliché, but I have a polariser and I'm determined to use it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.