thespotlightkid

By thespotlightkid

Poundbury # 4

I was so pleased with my rejuvenated bike coming back from my ride this evening that I tried to compose a eulogy to it along the lines of Ted Hughes' poem about a fish:

Bike, three inches long, perfect bike in all parts, green tigering the gold...

But what could I do about that 'three inches long'? Three feet would be about right, but doesn't scan, three metres scans but is a bit too long.

I glanced at my rear wheel to confirm that it really didn't wobble any more and when I looked back the pavement was rising up rapidly to meet me! I scooted noisily along the pavement, stood up and found neither I nor the bike was hurt. I have a few grazes and my ripped jeans had to be thrown away but they were old anyway. Luckily I was wearing gloves and a helmet, which bore the brunt.

What kind of building is my bike standing in front of?

Answer

Poundbury # 3 and links to previous Poundbury blips

PS notice how I posed the bike, using the pedal as a stand, supported by the pavement. We used to do that as kids and it came back to me.

PPS the orange splashes are the setting sunlight reflected from the opposite building.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.