Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Motors Competition

Our good friends invited us to a Police Motors Competition today. Police Motorcycle Officers from four states including Canada have gathered here for a weekend of races, timed obstacle courses, and team riding as well as banquets, dinners, and ceremonies. It is a huge deal for all of the Motorcycle Officers attending.

Today was a practice day and a good day to go as a spectator. We were free to roam all around and see the different categories of competition. There must have been five hundred cones laid out in strategic order. At any given time, ten to fifteen Motors Officers could be seen practicing the various courses. It was very exciting and it was cool to see how skilled these officers are on their bikes. There were Harley's, Kawasaki's, and BMW's. All police bikes.

Our friend is a very skilled rider. The kids loved cheering him on as he weaved in and out of the cones right in front of us. And as he hit the throttle and revved his engine flying by us, the kids were waving their arms at him giving him a thumbs up. And my husband was no exception. He was just as excited about all of the motorcycles as the kids were. My good girlfriend and I were capturing the bikes with our cameras. It was competition day for us as well. We have a friendly photography competition going between the two of us. It keeps us inspired and forces us to up our game. It's never scored but always fun to say that we are competing for the best shot.

After spending several hours at the competition today, we drove out to watch our friend's son play T-ball. He joined us for the Police Competition today so we brought him to his game and stayed to watch him play. He is a good little ball player and a very serious one. I had a ball shooting pics of him playing with the Cannon 5D. The zoom lens is incredible and that early evening light is wonderful to photograph in. I was able to capture his determined little face as he smacked the ball into the infield.

And.....oh I hate to even say this out loud but I will.......his first time up to bat, he hit a foul ball that literally came right at me. Of course I was low in my stance with the camera to my eye and was barely able to jump out of the way before the ball hit me and fancy 5D. Oh what are the odds of that happening on my first field trip day with the fancy camera. Everyone laughed / sighed relief when I ducked out of the way. My good friend and fellow blipper (also Mom of the little slugger) was across the field just laughing in disbelief. "Good thing that camera's insured" she yelled. At least I think that is what she said or maybe that is just what my brain was telling me over and over and over again.

So lesson learned. With a zoom lens, I don't need to get that close. I was shooting close as if I was using my fixed 50 lens. Now for my statement: To my good friends / photog mentors and owners of the camera, if you are reading this.....you can breathe again. I will protect and defend that fancy camera of yours every minute of every day until it is returned safely to you. And with that said, I did get some beautiful photos today that I simply could not have gotten with my camera. Day 1 in the field, three weeks to go. Loving this opportunity! And realizing how much I have to learn before the end of this month. Using a new and unfamiliar camera is a very humbling experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.