Clare's Symi

By claresymi

Getting Loaded

It's Saturday night, I don't have to work tomorrow, so why did I come straight home instead of going for a couple of drinks after work? Because I'm miserable and unsociable? Well, yes actually but that's not why. I'm at home because this is the only way I can be absolutely sure that I don't have to endure even one minute of the annual competition to see which European country has the most political allies/friends.

When I first came to live in Symi, I was shocked to find out how seriously Greek people take Eurovision and was horrified to discover that on this particular Saturday night each year, it's quite difficult to find a bar that doesn't have it playing on the television.

There is another advantage to coming straight home. This way I avoid the pitfall of the 'tipsy Blip' by writing this while drinking instead of after drinking. Mind you, I'm still not sure that I'm making any sense.

Before I forget: morning, donkey's being loaded up before trotting down to the harbour.

If I manage to get good and tiddly, I may watch some of the voting and have a giggle at the sheer predictability of neighbouring countries giving each other maximum points for commiting heinous crimes against songwriting. But I probably won't.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.