With mountains like these

By Sollergirl

Paquita

I was invited to a first communion today with Agu and the boys. Alvaro did all his duties beatifully in a very colourful and jolly ceremony in the fantastic theatre at their school. As unofficial photographer, I had a lot of fun and some frustration trying to get the shots without flash in the varying light. Quite a bit of success though. My favourite moment was getting the priest waiting in the wings, him acting surprise at being caught, me acting penitent, and then him blessing me from the shadows. Magic and all in two seconds. (I would have blipped the shot, but I couldn't quite get it right. He was a great priest by the way, telling people off in the middle of the ceremnoy for not sitting down and so on.

Afterwards, we had a big Spanish lunch followed by dancing. Paquita, Alvaro's mother and her cousin (I think) performed beautifully, and so did a couple of girls from another party. Real flamenco flashing eyes and spirit. Those girls don't just dance, it's more of a performance. Maybe I'll get a shot of them blogged later, but it wasn't really appropriate for today.

After that, we had another copa at Manolo's and even a quick swim. Well, we Northern blooded types did. The Mediterraneans put one toe in and cried off. I guess the hot blood cools too quickly!

EDIT: I've just noticed this is my 666th shot. Maybe I needed the priest's blessing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.