Slice of my Life

By spcooke

Mixed

Today is such a mix--of weather and emotions. I have prayed for rain--my grass and gardens were so thirsty. The gentle, spring rain started last night and has continued. The soft gray hasn't even bothered me--the colors of the popcorn trees stand out against the green pines, the yellow pots of gold are brilliant with the grape hyacinths. My wild rose was full of drops--my husband pointed out this good shot.

Today is my youngest's 19th birthday. She and my oldest daughter's birthdays are 4 days apart. For years we have celebrated two birthdays and Mother's Day together. This year was the beginning of a new phase--Mother's Day alone, birthday greetings over the phone, birthday celebrations in different places.

Ah, the bittersweet moments of a mom who is so ready to move into the next phase, but looks back with emotion on the experiences that are passed. Today's gentle rain is a good backdrop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.