Two Years Straight

Whew!  I made it.  At the end of my first year I was daunted by the prospect of doing it all again.  Seasons change here, but within each season everything is pretty much the same  year after year.  How could I make my second year different?  It has been a real challenge.  There were days when I searched my garden in despair.  Everything blippable had been blipped.  Even the countryside seemed stale at times.  I can't imagine how I will fill my third year.

Although I have experimented a lot, extending ideas that have been knocking about in my head for 40 years or more, I'm still committed to photography as photography, rather than taking a photo to turn it into something else.  Some might consider this a failing in me, but my early experience is still a strong influence.  I grew up with the National Geographic Magazine as the main source of images in our household.  My first job was processing black and white films, in the days when films were developed in complete darkness, and prints were processed by hand and eye.  My boss required perfection.  I do however, use PhotoShop a lot more than I once did, to make an image closer to what I saw.

The usual thanks to Joe and the gang who provide this brilliant site.  Thanks to all who share their photos and words.  You are all stars.  Thanks too to my subscribers and everyone who looks at my journal, especially those who give my blips comments, hearts and stars.  Most importantly, thanks to my Blip friends and all who help make Blipfoto a community.  We have seen in the last week what a real community this is.

This image was shot through a glass bowl.  No tricks, apart from attaching the numbers to the flower with sticky tape.  Large

My favourite blip from the last year: Remembrance Day I'd practised for several days in various light conditions.  On the day I stayed out until the light was just right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.