Andrew's Random Photos

By andrewhiggins

1/500th!!!

500 daily blips...phew!! A blipfoto tally I never thought I'd get to...
Thank you so much for all the kind comments, thanks 81 times to my much appreciated subscribers, and to the wonderful 67,000+ of you who've taken time to have a quick look. I've also thoroughly enjoyed seeing everyone else's blips, be they be snaps of the day, or fine photos. What a great collection of photographers are here on blipfoto!

The notion of a daily photo blog started after I read about Frank Horvat's '1999 A Daily Report' project and book, featured in Amateur Photographer magazine, way back in 2008 (I think?!). I tried and failed, quickly, a daily photo in 2009.
Discovering Blipfoto by chance, on Jan 1st 2010, this website gave me the inspiration to snap my own daily report, of literally, random photos.
Seeing everyone else's photos meant I was joining a big club (and brilliant photos they were too everyone, a standard I had to keep up with!)

When I reached 365 blips, I was delighted to have managed a whole year. It was tough, perversely because I am a pro' newspaper snapper which means looking, finding and snapping a blip, already busy with assignments, in a spare minute between work jobs. Then on days off, when I would quite happily avoid picking up a camera, I was out n about again, actually being an carefree 'amateur' snapper!

But after reaching 365 blips, it was a daily routine, and I had the notion of going for 500.... thinking of the 1/500th shutter speed as some kind of photographic link to another target.

So target reached! I'm carrying on blipping, it is a habit isn't it? But maybe not everyday, it is a tough call when it is work too, but maybe that means I'll enjoy blipping even more?! And that shutter dial has a 1/1000th on it..... ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.