Appertunity

By appertunity

No anaesthetic in nature

On the way to work I spotted a pigeon who was obviously heading for the great loft in the sky as although his eyes were bright & knowing he allowed me to get quite close, for a portrait, as if he was resigned to his fate.

Anyway he was quite beautiful.

Although I'm not an atheist (due to a bizarre set of reasoning) I have a huge problem with religion & I struggle with the idea of a participatory God, a God that actually intervenes in our affairs (which is theism rather than deism).

My partner is a Christian & I questioned him once about saying grace, about the idea of thanking God for the food on our plates when it's us who had to work for it while thousands of others starve. What's so special about us I asked? Why is God singling us out with such bounty while millions of others, through no fault other than the accident of their birth, starve?

We don't day grace anymore.

I'm a laugh a minute sometimes me lol

Anyway the pigeon set off this train of thought this morning as I made my way to work. I contemplated the pain it's no doubt in, how I felt helpless to help it & eventually wondering what's worse the pain of a so called dumb animal or the pain we have to endure as conscious thinking beings?

There's no anaesthetic in nature for this poor beastie I just hope the endorphins kick in so he drifts off peacefully.

I question God like this all the time but I'm sure if there is a God he understands why.

Sorry for the morbid blip & happy Monday lol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.