A day at a time....

By Trotsky

Lily

My neighbour, Antonia, has been brilliant ever since she found out I loved plants. She arrives with a fistful of what looks like twigs, says something so fast in Spanish I can't understand, then proceeds to stick these twigs in whatever pot she likes. Hey presto, within a couple of weeks the twigs will have leaves and look as though they are about to take over. Within a month or two they have flowers!

She's done this with ivy which now covers most of the back wall and the shed roof. She's done it with a morning glory which grows up into the ivy and produces beautiful blue flowers. She's given me geraniums of differing kinds, spider plants, rubber plant etc. Everything seems to grow in this climate!

Antonia gave me this lily a couple of years ago and every year it produces these wonderful flowers.

She's a great neighbour!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.