today I ...

By BarbiesWorld

...remembered:

Victoria...

The addition to saturday's blip... The painter of this, Christine Jantzen aka 'The Bride', once invited me to her exhibition opening in our town hall. As architect (she's only spare time painter) she has a liking for painting abstract cities and buildings and I was delighted to see on the paintings that we share a liking for the same cities.

I loved the Victoria series most.
Victoria on Gozo. I was once in Malta and Gozo (and managed to avoid the tourist trap cities) in summer and fallen immediately for the islands. I loved the rough landscape, the meagre vegetation, the cordial people. (Unfortunately I was with someone who didn't shared this liking, luckily it sorted out soon enough...)
The other reason why I loved Christines Victoria series was because it reminded me of the book Invisible Cities - or like the pictures were made after this fascinating little book. (It turned out that she didn't knew it...)

Ok, before I lose you, I blip this because she gave one of her precious paintings to me as a 'thank you' gift for the wedding flowers I made. During the big speech. Which made me feeling so uncomfortable and overwhelmed (and tried hard not to cry) because the honour was just doing them (and wished she would mention it to noone). I'm still left speechless...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.