While on my runs

By waipushrink

Planetary conjunction

Early start and therefore a run which started and ended in the dark of the morning. As I was crossing the bridge taking Newton Road over the start of Spaghetti Junction as approached from the west, I saw the planets through a break in what has been for most of the last couple of days total cloud cover.

By focussing as well as I could on the motorway system, and ensuring that framing included the planets, I hoped for the best. This image exceeded my humble expectations. The brightest of the three planets is Venus, and the next brightest (and highest) is Jupiter. Mercury is to the right of and slightly higher than Venus.

I am grateful for Tsuken who posted this two weeks ago, as I am using his knowledge to identify the two planets beside Venus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.