Feorlean

By feorlean

War Memorial, Furnace

A dreich day. Whilst driving from Dunoon to Inveraray and then on to Minard I kept thinking about stopping to take a picture - of the high level of water in Loch Eck, of the bluebells at the road edge or of the waterfalls cascading down the hills. But the incessant rain put me off.

But I suddenly remembered a curiosity ( or thought I did) so I stopped in at the village of Furnace and there it was - my recollection from making a film about the Scottish poetry and literature of the First World War back in 1998 had not been defective.

In case you haven't worked it out, this is one of the few memorials in Scotland that give 1919, not 1918 , as the end of the First World War - dating the event from outbreak to final peace, not to armistice.

Perhaps a suitable grey picture for a grey day, too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.