Music corner

When I host one of the weekly session of the Music Group, we tend to end up afterwards for a pint or two and a bit of a chat in my local, which is Kitty Kiernan's on Collins Avenue. Being Saturday afternoon, there's very often a football match blaring away from the many TVs which infest the place, so we do our utmost to seat ourselves in this quiet corner which gets us at least away from the worst of the intrusion.

Carl arranged to take tomorrow off work so he could come with me for my appointment with the radiology oncologist. He arrived at my place around 6,30 this evening and we decided shortly afterwards to walk to Kitty's to wet our collective whistle. We spent a pleasant hour or so, before returning home and ordering really excellent Chinese delivery from a recently opened place on the Malahide Road. It's called Feng Shou, and I'd recommend it without hesitation.

After that we watched The Social Network. I still don't know what to make of it. I found it upsetting and rather irritating, to be honest. I don't know what I expected, but I definitely wasn't prepared for its all being about a litigation suit. I found that it reinforced all my prejudices about capitalism and profiteering and stock-market speculation and horse trading and the like. Mr Zuckerberg certainly doesn't come across in the film as a likeable individual, and I must say I'm very surprised that he didn't take a suit himself against his portrayal. Unsettling, that's the best word to describe it, I reckon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.