Rachel's Journey

By ArcaneSpark

Runner Bean Glut

How, you may ask, have you ended up with a glut before they have even sprouted?

Well... we took a double approach to planting this year, DH built a lovely tent like frame and pushed a few in the soil around the base of each cane, in parallel I potted up a pot for each cane with 2 seeds in each. We thought we had all our bases covered and if some didn't sprout in the garden we could plant some pot grown ones!

We waited and waited but neither the outside ones or or my pots grew, so off DH went to the DIY store to buy some, these were duely planted in the garden and all is looking well.

In the meantime I decided to move my pots indoors and pop a couple of corn seeds in each, fast forward a few week and I have runner beans AND corn sprouting in these pots and am running out of garden space!!!

Think I will have to plant in pots and then freeze/give away the excess, we had x3 runner bean plants last year and we were eating them nearly every day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.